Site Map/Alternate Navigation Skip to Main Content

Composite Earthquake Catalog

ANSS Catalog Home | Search | Maps and lists | Details | Caveats | Links | Link to ComCat (under development)

Note (4/9/2015): The ANSS Comprehensive Catalog (ComCat) contains earthquake source parameters (e.g. hypocenters, magnitudes, phase picks and amplitudes) and other products (e.g. moment tensor solutions, macroseismic information, tectonic summaries, maps) produced by contributing seismic networks. This comprehensive collection of seismic information will eventually replace the ANSS composite catalog hosted by the Northern California Data Center; however, historic regional seismic network catalogs have not yet been fully loaded.

The ANSS (Advanced National Seismic System) composite catalog is a world-wide earthquake catalog that is created by merging the master earthquake catalogs from contributing ANSS institutions and then removing duplicate solutions for the same event. The ANSS earthquake catalog grew out of the efforts of the CNSS (Council of the National Seismic System). It was previously called the CNSS earthquake catalog.

The ANSS catalog currently consists of earthquake hypocenters, orgin times, and magnitudes. We hope to add phase and amplitude readings, as well as first-motion mechanisms and moment tensors in the future.

For information on current earthquakes from the ANSS, see

Information from the ANSS catalog:

Information about the ANSS catalog: